Battling Sin

I am, without a doubt, one of the world’s top authority and expert in failing. Failing my education, my service, and my relationships. But one area in which I fail the most, my convictions. My convictions tells me too strive a life magnifying God’s love and presence but the expert in me kept doing otherwise.

I love God and I definitely want to serve Him more. I am His champion but why do I kept on sinning? I asked God for wisdom on this and He answered me during my morning prayer. I realize that a part of my prayer goes like: “Lord God, I offer this day to You as I try to make this day perfect though allow me to already say sorry if I won’t be able to overcome all temptations I will face today.”

Now that’s why I find it hard fighting the temptations around me. That’s why I kept on failing my convictions. I doubted. I am already asking for forgiveness because I already claim that I would sin today. Basically I’m trying to fight temptations with my own strength even when I know I alone can’t overcome these temptations. I am refusing God’s mercy.

everlasting_mercy_wide

Stanley C. Villavicencio—a man who is clinically dead but was brought back to life after an encounter with Jesus—said this:

“By refusing His mercy, one is also refusing to believe that He is God.”

After reading that line I felt a slight pinch in my heart. OUCH! That line hurts! And before having the time to recover with that slight pinch, another line appeared. This time the pinch was much painful.

Before I come as a Just Judge I will open wide the door of My Mercy. He who refuses to pass through the doors of My Mercy will have to pass through the door of My justice.” -Jesus Chirst

Brothers and sisters, we are losing battle against temptation because we’re often misguided in three key areas. We’ve had..

1. The wrong standard for holiness.
2. The wrong source for power to fight against temptations. And
3.  the wrong motive for fighting our sins.

Wrong standard for holiness can compare sin with a rich, oily, calorie-laden lechon baboy (roasted pig). We all know how it can ruin our diet but it is just to tasty to resist. A wrong standard for holiness will lead us to telling ourselves that a little sin wont hurt—just like what I did with my morning prayer earlier.
Wrong source for power to fight temptations will always result to a failure. Why? Because most of the time, we depend on our own power instead of God’s power. In the end, our strength would be useless because satan will simply tempt us based on the things we can’t resist.
Wrong motive for fighting sins tells us that we should avoid sins to impress God, to be holy, to be blessed, etc. We think that we should not in because selfish pride or reasons.

In reality, we are already forgiven and because of we are forgiven, our standard for holiness should be perfect. Our source of power should come from Jesus Christ Himself. And our motive for fighting sin should be because God is merciful.

Brothers and sisters, we are all sinners and that is already a fact. But it is also a fact that Jesus Christ died on the cross to save us all of our sins. God’s mercy saved us from our sins—and there wont be any sins God can’t & won’t forgive. Let us stop doubting ourselves saying “I cannot overcome this sin” because that would be like doubting God’s mercy Itself. Instead, have faith that we can overcome any kind of sin with the power God will provide. All we need to do is ask.

Forget our own power and trust God’s power in fighting sin. 
Let us welcome God’s everlasting mercy and together overcome sin!

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
@ebun23

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

