Grow! Learn and Improve (Pt. 1)

6

I used to be the type of guy who often complains about things others have that I don’t. I used to always tell people I’m nothing compared to “Person A” (who is handsome, very talented in music, and smart), or to “Person B” (who on the other hand is athletic and funny), or to “Persons C-Z”…

‘I suck’ – pardon my french. This was my way of thinking back then until I learned to accept being me and just continue living my life as a person saved by the Lord’s grace.

Looking back, I find my past self awkward and funny. Ask me why? Because now I learned/have the qualities of “Persons A-Z”. I am undoubtedly handsome (ehem), I know music, I am athletic-in a way, I believe I’m funny, and so on. I even have a hard time deciding what to learn next that I need to ask a friend. This was how our conversation went btw:

Me: I want to grow and learn new things help me figure one out
Her: I don’t know how about volleyball
Me: I already know how to play volleyball
Her: Tennis?
Me: Already know too.
Her: Basketball, badminton, bowling, billiards?
Me: Already know them all.
Her: How about girl stuffs?
Me: I love cooking, I do house chores, and I know how to sew
Her: Guy stuffs?
Me: Well, I’m an active mountaineer, I love wall climbing, I travel a lot, and I do distance running
Her: Smart stuffs?
Me: I love reading books and news, writing articles, giving seminars, and preaching.
 Her: So what don’t you know?
Me: I remembered being a frustrated dancer. I guess I’ll learn to dance then.

Don’t get me wrong here, I do not intend to brag, rather I want to proclaim and inspire. To share the story of how the person who used to be jealous became a person who knows many things.

WHY GROW?

At present, I am a person addicted to growth. I want to learn new things and improve the current things I know. But why bother? We need to grow to obtain a purpose. Before, I tried my best to grow and learn for the purpose of being someone worthy for my future partner (the traits of the partner I’m praying for is out of this modern world,that’s why I wanted to be worthy). Someone who she would be proud of. Someone who can be a true pastor, provider, and protector. But you know what, having this kind of motivation ain’t enough. Time will pass and you’d get tired. Getting motivation from your personal desires ain’t enough to feed the growth your awesome body is meant to have.

HOW TO GROW?

Realizing that getting motivation from your personal desires ain’t enough, I began to crumble. I became confused and lost all purpose. With no purpose I began to question myself. I became pitiful. I was trapped with the common saying “why bother growing when this is all you’re capable of“. I was being consumed by this darkness when suddenly, light came and the Lord became clear.

1Peter 4:10-11 states:

  “As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

Brothers and sister, I said earlier that we need to grow to obtain a purpose but our motivation to grow will only depend on what purpose we have. The smaller the purpose is the smaller our motivation will be-and personal desires can only be considered as a small purpose. On the other hand, bigger purpose gives bigger motivation and what would be bigger than God as the purpose right? Our purpose should be to glorify and better serve the Lord and His people. Our purpose should be for love and service. Only then will we feel the unstoppable motivation to grow.

SLOWLY BUT SURELY

On the way home one tiring night I decided to ride the bus then jeepney from manila instead of the common jeepney-train-jeepney. FYI: riding bus then jeepney takes forever-imagine the traffic. Why did I do that? because I’m tired and thus, I don’t want to keep on changing rides, plus imagine the line and the standing ride at train. Travel time may be long but at least I wont have to change rides and I’m sure I’d be arriving home slowly but surely.

Brothers and sisters, our growth is like my jeepney ride. Slow but sure. Growing/learning is a step by step process. One must be patient and focused. Pray for support and guidance. Also pray that you wont lose your purpose. One day you’d just wake up feeling satisfied with your growth and is now ready to learn another new thing.

MULTIPLY AND SERVE MORE

You shouldn’t stop just yet after learning why to grow, how to grow, and where to get motivation in growing. Instead, learn to multiply. Grow more by learning new skills or improving your current skills for as you grow more, you’re able to serve God more and bless people more. Besides it’s even stated how God wants you to multiply the talents (treasure) He lent you. That He is strongly in favor of those who multiply these talents.- Matthew 25:14-30 (the parable of coins) says:

“Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his wealth to them.  To one he gave five bags of gold, to another two bags, and to another one bag, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. The man who had received five bags of gold went at once and put his money to work and gained five bags more. So also, the one with two bags of gold gained two more. But the man who had received one bag went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

“After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them. The man who had received five bags of gold brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five bags of gold. See, I have gained five more.’

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

“The man with two bags of gold also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two bags of gold; see, I have gained two more.’

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

“Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

“His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

“‘So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’’

Brothers and sisters, let us commit ourselves in growing by learning and improving more. Let us serve God and bless the world more as we equip ourselves with more skills and talents. Let us grow to further showcase God. Focus our growth on God and everything else will follow. Grow in God’s name and be a better person for the world and the people around you!

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
@ebun23

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

