Our Heart’s Desire

hearts_desire_box

“Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart”
Psalms 37:4

I’ve encountered this verse countless times. I’ve read it so many times that I almost don’t read nor reflect on it anymore. Earlier during my morning devotion, I almost skimmed right past this verse. Almost. Maybe it was the peaceful chirps of the birds. Maybe it was the way I woke up. But for some reason I made myself read and reflect on it. And as I did, I saw something I hadn’t seen before.

In the past I thought the point of this scripture was to serve the Lord and He will reward you. That as you open yourself to God you’d understand the true joy and fulfillment of serving the Lord. Though in a way that is correct, there is actually a deeper meaning to this verse. There is something more to this verse that meets the eye.

This scripture exhorts us to delight ourselves in the Lord, finding our greatest pleasures in God and the things dear to His heart. This scripture, rather than action and reward, is actually about relationship with the Lord.

I am an older brother who actually spoils our youngest. Whenever he asks me for something, and if I have the capability, I’d immediately give him whatever he asks. I might not seem to gain anything from what I did but in my heart I found joy and satisfaction. And I believe that joy is because of the relationship we develop as siblings growing together.

Brothers and sisters, our relationship with God ought to bring us more joy, satisfaction, and pleasure than any other relationships, activity, or material possession we have. And like any other relationships, we can find pleasure in what God enjoys as we spend intimate time with Him. As we strive to pursue God and allow Him to show us our situation from His perspective, we will begin to see things as God sees them. As we adjust ourselves to God, our heart will begin to desire the same thing God desire. Most of our prayers will not be for ourselves anymore but for God’s name to be glorified and His community to grow.

Brothers and sisters, as we grow in relationship with God we learn to delight ourselves. At the same time, He gives us the desire of our heart-which is to glorify and exalt His name. In the first place, that’s why we are created. That is the main purpose of our existence. That’s what completes us. That is our heart’s true desire.

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
@ebun23

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

