Childlike Joy

462456546_1357697469
(Public jeepney)

I had this fun experience in a public jeepney one time while going home. I noticed a kid (maybe 2 or 3 y/o) sitting on his mother’s lap in front of me. This kid was staring at me for a while already so I responded by smiling at him. Seeing my smile, the kid suddenly giggled. After a while I saw him still staring at me so I again smiled at him – much wider and friendlier this time. The kid after seeing my smile started giggling again – this time the giggling was much louder and happier. This went on for as long as the time we were in the jeepney. His giggling will always match the intensity of my smile.

The experience reminded me of Matthew 18:24

Jesus called a little child to come to him. Jesus stood the child before the followers. Then Jesus said, “I tell you the truth. You must change and become like little children {in your hearts}. If you don’t do this, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. The greatest (most important) person in the kingdom of heaven is the person that makes himself humble like this child.”

We all know that this verse talks about being child-like in obedience to the Father. Reflecting on my experience however, made me realize that we should be like a child who is simply joyous because God is smiling at us. Have you experienced joy within your heart after (or while) serving the Lord, or praying, or even by just acknowledging Him? That is the joy I’m talking about. That is the same joy God wants us to get by simply being a child who stares at Him.

aaa

Brothers and sisters, the joy we receive from God is mysterious. It is unknown but it is free. It is like the child I encountered – I’m sure he doesn’t know why he is giggling. He probably finds the giggling mysterious but the fact remains, he is joyful. Together let us stare at God’s greatness. Together let us be childlike in obedience and simplicity.
Together let us be joyous!

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
facebook.com/lentwisdom
@ebun23

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

