Serving People

LAST NIGHT I WAS PRIVILEGED TO HAVE A DINNER DATE WITH AN AWESOME WOMAN.
I just met her. I saw her by the alley besides a convenience store. She was there, sitting alone.

nov_21_2894_alley_woman(Photo from Frank’s Photo Essay)

I was supposed to eat dinner in the convenience store when I suddenly felt the Holy Spirit urging me to do something. This is a common thing for me, it is God’s way of urging me to be like Christ, or to simply find Christ in a situation. Praise God I did what I was urged.

I bought 2 sandwiches in the convenience store and went to the old lady sitting by the alley. I gave her the other sandwich, asked if I can sit beside her, and ate dinner with her. As we were eating I observed she hid the other half of her sandwich. She said that was for the cat, while pointing at the stray cat on the other side of the alley. Turned out, the cat was the only companion she have. The old lady would always share half of the alms she gets to that stray cat. After talking to her more, I found out that she has no more relative (I didn’t ask how that happened) and that she was very depressed until she met the cat on the same alley. She got amused with it and started hanging out on that alley together with the cat.

quote_163

They say no man is an island. I couldn’t agree more to John Donne. John Donne was an English Poet and a cleric in the church of England. Him being a cleric, I believe when he said his famous line, he was referring to us as a human created by God needing each other to continue living.

Brothers and sisters, God created us not to be alone. He created us with the desire to seek for other’s attention-not so that we can rely but so that we can serve and be served. Service doesn’t necessarily need most of your time. Sometimes, a little smile is enough for a person to feel the heart warming love of God.

This is our mission, let us spread God’s love by serving people. We are created to love. We are created to serve. We are privileged to first be served by Jesus Christ by dying on the cross for us. We are also privileged that like Jesus, we can serve people without us dying on the cross to do so. Finally, we are privileged that we can be joyful and fulfilled as we serve other people. Other people needs us the same way you need other people. Let’s start by being there for others, by serving others.

Let us feel the joy and fulfillment service brings.
Let us be a testimony of God’s love here on Earth.

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
facebook.com/lentwisdom
@ebun23

Related articles
3 Comments

  1. Yes, helping others is essential for healthy spiritual growth. Sometimes I wonder — why that one — was there anything that I missed this time — is it best to give more time to this one or await an invitation — and so on. There are always good questions that attain in us to grow.
    Thank you for your service!
    – Eric

    • Thank you also for the your wisdom. God bless.

  2. Reblogged this on fairfieldparkcruisaders's Blog.

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

