When Sorrow Visits Us

I’M ACTUALLY FEELING SAD RIGHT NOW..

I am the type of person who easily laughs, easily fills with compassion, easily love but I am also the type who easily feel sorrowful. Right now, I’m feeling the later. Allow me to share, I did something I really didn’t know to a very special sister. She texted me that I made her feel bad and that she might cry because of what I did. Ironically, hours before whatever I did, I just told her I would do my best to always make her happy because I want my brothers and sisters in the ministry to always be happy. Of course I asked for forgiveness but I still feel bad. So bad that sorrow took over me.

I hate sorrow. I hate the fact that people gets sad. I hate it so much that I don’t want anyone to feel sorrow. Much more, I hate being under sorrow myself. I believe no one should be sorrowful because we have an awesome God and that alone is enough to rejoice. I was wrong. I was wrong when I thought no one should be sorrowful. God made me realize that sorrow can actually be a gift. Allow me to introduce you to the two types of sorrow.

WORDLY SORROW

Wordly sorrow is the type of sorrow almost everyone in our world experience (thus the name). This is the type of sorrow that makes people feel guilt and more negativity. Worldly sorrow leads to more bitterness and sometimes even pain or death. A good example of a man who felt worldy sorrow is the well-known Judas Iscariot.

75122426-judas

Judas is infamously knows as one of the twelve apostles who betrayed Jesus in exchange for a payment of thirty silver coins. After realizing what he had done, Judas felt sorrow beyond measure. His guilt consume him that he became vulnerable to more bitterness and sorrow. In the end, his sorrow lead him to his death. The sorrow was too much for him that he decided to hung himself.

GODLY SORROW

Godly sorrow however is the type of sorrow that focus and leads to God. This type of sorrow reminds people that we are not perfect; and that we need God’s mercy to live peacefully. It inspires people to seek God more. Godly sorrow leads to repentance and more trust to God. Simon Peter is a good example of a man who experienced Godly sorrow.

455px-Pope-peter_pprubens(Saint Peter as Pope by Peter Paul Rubens)

Peter is known for many things-one of the twelve apostles, first Pope of the Catholic Church, etc. He is also known as the man who denied Jesus THREE TIMES. Peter’s denial of Jesus gave him so much guilt that he felt great sorrow. (Imagine denying Jesus three times after promising he would never betray him. Ironic. Hey, this sounds a little familiar!) But this sorrow lead to humility and repentance. He continued to look unto God and asked for God’s mercy. His sorrow lead to trusting God more and allowing himself to be transformed by God. His sorrow allowed Him to serve and be used by God more.

–  –  –  –

Brothers and sisters, two types of sorrows. One leads to more bitterness and pain, another leads to transformation by God. Next time you feel sorrow, don’t curse it! Don’t hide it! And by God’s grace please don’t hate it. I learned it the hard way, now I’m sharing my reflections. From now on, whenever sorrow visits us, let’s welcome it while looking unto God. Let that sorrow lead us to letting God transform and use us more.

WHEN SORROW COMES WELCOME IT.
LOOK UNTO GOD,
HAVE A GODLY SORROW!

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
facebook.com/lentwisdom
@ebun23

2 Comments

  1. Sorrow leads to repentance, and that’s a good thing!

    • Truly. Thank you and God bless!

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

