Look Good

Its been a while since I last wrote here. Because of that, I will be posting a photo I’m so embarrassed to show. Yup, my old picture.

15966_1263149971863_8206516_nThis was me before. I didn’t eat well. I used to have a very untidy haircut. My choice of clothes were undeniably non-fashionable. I wore black nail polish. My neutral face was sad and unwelcoming. I look dirty.

537860_10151741476187921_1976630798_n

This is me now. I now go on a healthy diet. I groom my hair as tidy as possible. I now prefer collared clothes. I go to gym to stay fit. I try my best to always smile (look wacky for most of the time). And I’m conscious of how I look. I want to look clean/tidy and feel strong.

Brothers and sisters, if there is something I learned from how I was before and now, it is that we should strive to look good and be strong for God.

Allow me to share how my changes helped me big time in serving the Lord:

Before, I didn’t bother dressing properly because I thought I was dressing simple. I didn’t also comb nor have my hair cut. I realized that my words or advice doesn’t appeal much to any audience because I was unappealing. Now, I manage to get the attention of teens; even older people listens and values what I say. I managed to get their respect because I dress respectful. I also got plenty of invites to preach which gave me the privilege to serve and be used by God more. It all started when I decided to strive looking attractive.

Before, I don’t have a balanced diet. I either eat a lot or eat nothing at all. I also don’t do any healthy activities. Because of that I was either so thin or so fat. Being a thin/fat person with no exercise, I tend to get tired quickly. I miss plenty of exciting opportunities to serve God. Now, I can go to different mountains, travel places, walk miles, stay up late. All just to better serve God. It all started when I decided to eat healthy and stay fit.

Before, my neutral face was unwelcoming. I was always grumpy (I was actually simply really really shy). I was not really approachable. How could I have shown God’s light when I look scary right? Now, I try to always smile and be wacky so that I would radiate a light, fun, and welcoming aura. I became very approachable that most of the time, people would be the one to approach me for consultation, advice, prayer requests, etc. I now have the privilege to be serving God without me going anywhere. It all started when I decided to smile and be fun.

Before, I was contented with my acting skills. I didn’t bother learning new skills. How rare have I used my acting skills to bless people. Now, I’ve learned and continue to learn different useful skills to better serve God. I learned how to play different musical instruments, I learned cooking, sewing, dancing, writing, etc. Ask me to do anything and I will do it. I became flexible that I can serve God in any simple means possible. It all started when I decided to learn and improve.

Even after all of these, I know that I still have lots of area in me to improve. I’m still at the process of being the best I can be. I want to be healthier, more attractive, more fit, more fun, more approachable. And I encourage you to do the same.

As instruments of God we should strive to look and be as best as possible. This means that we shouldn’t be contented with our spiritual, mental, and emotional growth. We should also work on our physical growth because our beyond perfect Lord deserves an instrument close to perfection.

Be an instrument close to perfection for our beyond perfect God.
Strive growth physically too.
Be fit, dress attractively, look good!

I pray for you all
God bless!

Evan Ray T. Cabigon
evanray_cabigon@yahoo.com
facebook.com/lentwisdom
@ebun23

16 Comments

  1. Welcome back Evan. A very lovely post. God bless.

    • Thanks for the welcome Petal! I miss writing and reading your articles.

  2. princesssophia8

    You have a very valid point. But, I must tell you that you are wonderful just the way you are! God wants us to come to him as we are with our hair a mess, clothes are simple, and our lives not perfect. God says we are a work in progress. Though I agree that looking your best can help you to feel more confident, it is at our weakest times that we see God better. If everything in life was perfect, we would not understand suffering. Remember, you are a child of the King no matter how you look on the outside. Many blessings and thank you for reading my blog. 🙂

    • We are wonderfully made by God and it is our responsibility to take care of ourselves to better fulfill our purpose. We are the child of a King but it is also our responsibility to be one. You are right sister. I agree with you. God bless and thank you for reading. Love your blog btw. 🙂

  3. Haha I was very much like you in your older picture…in fact I had the same hair. I used to think my simple ways, more like lazy ways pleased God. But no, there’s nothing wrong with wanting to impress Him with our bodies. Great post. 🙂

    • Thank you very much Leighla. I agree with what you said. God bless us. 🙂

  4. My grandfather used to say “If you look good you will feel good.”

    I say self improvement is always a great thing. But we’re never done. We reach and make changes but it always seems there are more to make. You will continue to evolve and that’s good. Keep on making changes that affect your future in the ways you wish to see it. I’ll be here reading, watching and cheering.

    • Thank you so much!

  5. Thanks for stopping by again!
    And you are right … body spirit and soul … all God’s … a Holy Sacrifice 🙂
    You’re looking great!
    Blessings, God is Good!

  6. The eyes reveal one’s heart, regardless of outward appearances. You can easily see the difference in your pictures. Continue with the transformational process.

    • Thank you very much Rita. God bless with our lives.

  7. I want to let you know that I have nominated you for the Wonderful Member Readership Award
    http://richardacross.com/2013/11/08/wonderful-team-member-readership-award/

    • Wow. Thank you very much! I really appreciate this. God bless!

  8. Reblogged this on Being Born-again.

Leave a Reply

Lord Jesus Saves︵‿ †

Magnifying Jesus Christ

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Being Born-again

Smile,Jesus loves you. Salvation is free!!!!!!

Singles For Christ

East B-5B Francisville Chapter. Service. Fellowship. Adventures. Loving God. Living our lives as Singles for Christ.

GRAVITY OF GRACE

UNEARTHING THE VAST RICHES OF THE FINISHED WORK OF CHRIST

Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Devotions written by a Proverbs 31 wanna-be.

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

